top of page

ASHLEY CHAND - SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY


What is speech language pathology (SLP)?


When I mention I study speech-language pathology (SLP), most of the time, I get asked if I can help people with stutters. While not false, the field encompasses much, much more. SLP involves screening, assessing, diagnosing and treating speech, language, voice, social communication and swallowing disorders. A speech-language pathologist is the professional who has the education and practical expertise needed to provide guidance, education and techniques to help clients with such impediments, from infancy to late adulthood. Services are commonly provided on the individual-level, but can incorporate multiple people like family members and support groups.


What can you do with a SLP degree?


The incredible thing about having a SLP degree is that it provides the opportunity to work in various settings and with various populations. This includes, but is not limited to hospitals, nursing/residential care facilities, outpatient centres, schools and private clinics. The types of populations can also vary, even within the same environment. For example, my first clinical placement was in outpatient rehabilitation for adults, which consisted mostly of stroke, Huntington’s Chorea and Parkinson’s patients. And though a majority of these patients had experienced strokes, each presented speech, language, communication impediments differently from one another.


So, while the knowledge of a SLP is rather extensive, the profession itself is largely collaborative as individuals who are treated for speech, language, communication, and/or swallowing often require services from other professionals. These include physicians, nurses, audiologists, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, dieticians, teachers, among others, depending on the setting.


Overall, the opportunities for careers as a SLP are plenty and there is an increasing demand for SLPs in BC. From the logistical angle, a SLP degree looks promising. However, I believe the greatest reward from obtaining this degree is the ability to make an impact in the lives of individuals: speech, language, communication and swallowing disorders are “invisible” disabilities in that they are not immediately recognized. And this can become very frustrating, even isolating, when the communication partner(s) of the individual cannot understand what they are trying to express. Communication is integral to our daily lives- without it, we would not be able to inquire, share information, instruct, entertain, convey our wants and needs and build and maintain relationships. Communication brings thoughts to life. To have the ropes to bring a client (back) to a place where they can be understood, especially by the people who mean the most to them, I consider a privilege and pleasure.


What is the SLP community like?


Speaking from the perspective of a student, what I learned from my professors, SLPs I’ve volunteered with and my first clinical educator is that the overall community has a unique dynamic. You could be the only SLP serving in a school district for a specific type of speech-therapy (e.g. Alternative and Augmentative Communication) or you could be a part of a team of 15 SLPs in the inpatient ward for a metropolitan hospital. Each individual SLPs community is niche, because it’s contingent on your speciality or the population you’re servicing. It’s naturally the case that there will be SLPs more specialized in one or more areas than others, therefore it’s important to remain connected with other SLPs, especially if you think you may want to change your area of work down your career. That’s the thing about this field, it’s so wonderfully diverse, yet with that comes the responsibility of having a breadth of knowledge under your belt.


Speech and Hearing BC is a provincial organization that aims to educate the public and connect those seeking services with SLPs. They are also affiliated with the national organization, Speech-Language & Audiology Canada, (SAC). As a SLP, you have the choice to become members with one/both, so that you can gain access to professional development, promote yourself to the public to grow your practice, network with other SLPs, and have access to up-to-date treatments and practices. Knowledge continues to be added into this field, so it’s necessary to stay on top of the latest, evidence-based research in order to provide the most effective care to clients. Both organizations also hold conferences annually, so that provides opportunities to learn from each other in an interactive setting.


There is also the presence of a growing global community through social media. I follow a number of Instagram accounts, including Speech and Hearing BC and SAC to see what’s going on locally and nationally. I also follow individual SLP’s to learn from their experiences and tidbits of wisdom dispensed on posts. There is so much information out there, and I’m grateful that SLPs generally have a tendency to be willing to share what we know so we can add to each other’s knowledge. We all, in one way or another, serve the same vision, though we may do it in different ways. We’re all on the same team.


What do/did you do outside of school?


For the past 5 years, I have worked with kids with autism spectrum disorder (ASD). As children with ASD characteristically have deficits in social communication, the experience I have has taught me a lot about how to use strengths or interests of the client to create natural opportunities for communication. This can be applied to any child, but for a child who is delayed in terms of language development compared to typical peers, this is especially critical as motivation is a big factor for communication. It’s also taught me a lot about how behaviours can be used to express when there are no words. We all, by design, are made to communicate, and for these kids, it often doesn’t look the way we would expect it to. But everyone has a voice, an inner voice- sometimes it’s just support that is needed to bring that voice out into the world.


While I still continue to work with kids with ASD, prior to grad school, I spent the majority of my time volunteering with kids and adults related to speech therapy and doing research (linguistics of American Sign Language handshapes). With whatever free time I have, back then and now, I enjoy spending it in company, especially with my family, friends, and Citygroup at Crave Church. It doesn’t really matter what we’re doing either, just spending time with the people I treasure brings me a lot of joy. I also love spending time outdoors (when the weather’s good), whether it be hiking, going for a walk, or something more adventurous like paddleboarding. When I get inspiration, I like to paint or make cards. I’m pretty sporadic when it comes to hobbies, but I’m always open to trying and learning new things.


School survival tips?


1. Prioritize. I thought I knew how to balance deadlines before grad school, but now, I really know how to! With the number of courses you’re required to take, readings, individual assignments, group projects, and exams will pile atop another. It’s good to be able to sift through deadlines in terms of date, but to budget how long something can take is just as important. You could have something due in two weeks which will need much less time than something due in three days, or vice versa. I’m a visual person, so for me it’s helpful to have all the deadlines I have due laid out for the month so I can see everything from a broader perspective. Definitely can’t go wrong with investing in an agenda (or, if you’re like me, use an online calendar)!


2. Be flexible. In other words, try not to have a fixed mindset of when things will need to get done by. There’s been multiple instances throughout the year where I had to shift gears and work on things which needed more time than anticipated or required me to spend more time looking into literature. It’s great to plan and be prepared, but sometimes, you’ll need to roll with it, and if you give yourself that flexibility, you’re less likely to be frustrated and can instead put that energy towards getting things done.


3. Communicate. It would be pretty ironic if I didn’t offer this as a tip as a future SLP. If you are going through something, being open and honest to the extent you can with your classmates and professors is critical. I remember feeling burnout in the middle of my second term, and I was hesitant about telling one of my professors because I knew I would not be able to make a deadline for one of her assignments. Eventually, I did vocalize what I was going through, and she was able to accommodate me in that situation. So, I learned that while life can get in the way of fulfilling academic duties, the faculty is there to support you and want to see you succeed. The best way you can move forward when your optimal performance is hindered is by being candid about the reasons why. Your well-being matters!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page