top of page

KIKI YU - RESEARCH COORDINATOR



How did you decide on this passion/career and when was this decision made?

I did my co-op at a translational research lab, so I got to experience a wide range of research from preclinical to clinical studies. That led me to volunteering at a lab based in BC Children’s Emergency. I realized I really enjoyed working in the clinical environment and pursued a clinical research position after graduation. I landed the role of Research Coordinator at Vancouver Imaging, a radiology group, in July 2020.


What is a normal day like at work?

Unlike labs where you support a single PI, I support a group of radiologists with different backgrounds, so my days can vary a lot! But generally, I am trying to turn a study idea into reality. This means I am working with clinicians to develop a protocol and ethics application, consulting with hospital staff and collaborators to set up research pathways, and liaising with legal and finance teams to execute research agreements if other entities are involved. Once launched, I may conduct data collection and statistical analysis, or assist in manuscript and grant preparations.


What do you like the most about your job/what do you look most forward to in your job?

I love when a new project lands on my desk. Our radiologists are specialized in trauma, cardiothoracic, neuro, musculoskeletal and interventional procedures, so I get the opportunity to work with a HUGE variety of projects, each with its own unique challenges. Radiology is a health care field that is inextricably intertwined with technology and is rapidly advancing, so it’s really exciting to see the innovation that is happening right now.


What are the benefits and perks of this job?

I got to attend the largest radiology conference in the world, RSNA, in Chicago! But I think the biggest perks of the job is the vast amount of exposure to technology and medicine, especially for someone who just graduated with their BSc. With a background in Pharmacology, I knew nothing about computer science and artificial intelligence. But I’ve had the opportunity to learn and engage, and earlier this year I co-authored an introduction to AI in radiology. Through my role, I was offered a part-time position at UBC Biomedical Engineering, where I facilitate AI research for image-guided therapeutics.


What advice do you have for high schoolers?

It is normal to feel imposter syndrome. In science, you are likely to experience a variety of fields that you don’t know much about. Keeping an open mind and asking lots of questions will be your best strategy. Science is about collaboration and you will find a good support team. You will also get comfortable admitting when you don’t know something!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page