top of page

TONY ZHANG - REAL ESTATE AGENT


Steveston London Secondary School Alumnus


1. How did you decide on this passion/career and when was this decision made?


After years of being involved in healthcare and leadership positions, I decided to completely transition into the real estate industry on a full-time basis. There are numerous parallels between working as a community pharmacy and as a realtor, in terms of the service they provide, trying to ultimately solve the clients' needs. It was definitely not a smooth transition as I faced lots of backlash from family, giving up on such a prestigious degree, and starting from zero since I knew no one from the industry. The triggering point to my decision was when I read a quote, "If you want to be successful in life, you need to be comfortable with the uncomfortable." Ever since I had a clear vision and goal in my life, and I've had absolutely zero regrets making this transition.


2. What is a normal day like at work?


My schedule is time blocked on my Google calendar from the moment I wake up all the way until I sleep. Events should be in at least 30-minute intervals, and filled out without any gaps. Structure and routine are extremely important, and my daily work tasks include prospecting for new clients, showings, administration work, writing offers, negotiating, etc. After work, I like to run, and read before I sleep. Taking a break is equally as important because burning out is very common in this industry. In real estate, you are the business you are selling to others. If you cannot even discipline yourself or prioritize your tasks efficiently, your business will fail. This is why 90% of realtors fail in their first and second year, one of the highest failure rates out of any career out there.


3. What do you like the most about your job/what do you look most forward to in your job?


Every single family I help out will get me one step closer to my dream goal of becoming a top realtor in the Lower Mainland. So, I couldn't wait to go out there and meet new people and build relationships with others. A person's income is directly correlated to the magnitude of problems they solve for others, and I want to be the one they think of when they have a problem. This industry is a people business, it is all about the relationships you build with your clients and colleagues. At the same time, you need to stand out from the crowd, so you need to work even harder and put in even more time than other people to exceed expectations. My clients love working with me because they know I will not disappoint them.

4. What are the benefits and perks of this job ?

This job is one of the most difficult careers out there, but also one of the most rewarding. In addition, the feeling you get when your clients cry out of happiness due to the fact that you helped them find their dream home is priceless. The people you meet, whether your clients or colleagues are all amazing people. And because it's 100% commission-based, everyone is so motivated, and it helped me find my own niche of people. At the end of the day, you want to be surrounded by people who will lift you higher in life. The potential for this industry has no ceiling, as you can go on about building your own real estate team, becoming a builder, real estate investor, etc.

5. What advice do you have for high schoolers?

You need to have a very clear vision of what you want to do in your life, or else you will drift around and be lost in life. It takes a lot of time and experience, but it is very possible to find your passion. Stop caring what others have to say or judge about you, because you live for yourself, not others. Whenever someone said to me, it can't be done. I heard it CAN be done. Everything is always impossible until someone does it.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page